RSS

What’s Your Mix

10 Mar

Image

Once upon a time, mix tapes were all the rage. If you don’t remember, a mix tape was when you would record all your favorite songs on a cassette tape. Now we have mix lists on our iPhones. A good mix can lift your mood, inspire you in a workout, and help you relax too.

Unfortunately, the mix we sometimes play for ourselves does the opposite. It says:

– you’re not good enough

– you’re not pretty enough

– you’re not smart enough

Thankfully God has his own mix for our lives;

When you say “I’m inadequate”, God says:“You are CHOSEN.”

You are my witnesses,” declares the Lord,“and my servant whom I have chosen,that you may know and believe me and understand that I am he. Before me no god was formed,nor shall there be any after me (Isa. 43:10).

When you feel afraid, God says:You are REDEEMED.

But now thus says the Lord, he who created you, O Jacob, he who formed you, O Israel:“Fear not, for I have redeemed you, I have called you by name, you are mine” (Isa. 43:1).

When you feel unloved, God says:You are LOVED.

Because you are precious in my eyes, and honored….I love you, (Isa. 43:4).

When you feel forgotten, God says:You are REMEMBERED.

Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands; your walls are continually before me.” (Isa. 49:16).

When you feel insecure, God says: You are SECURE.

The beloved of the Lord dwells in safety. The High God[a] surrounds him all day long, and dwells between his shoulders.” (Deut. 33:12).

When you feel unable, God says:You are ABLE.

God, the Lord, is my strength; he makes my feet like the deer’s; he makes me tread on my high places. (Hab. 3:19).

When you feel worthless, God says:You are CALLED.

But you are a chosen race, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people for his own possession, that you may proclaim the excellencies of him who called you out of darkness into his marvelous light. (1 Pet. 2:9).

Don’t let the devil cause you to feel like you are worthless. You are not worthless in God’s eyes; you’re a child of the one true King!

One of my favorite quotes is from The Help, by Kathryn Stockett; “You is kind. You is smart. You is important.” We all need to remind ourselves of that. Therefore, change the mix you are listening to and be encouraged!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 10, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment

 
Angie Brock's Portfolio

Articles from The Athens News and Ohio University's online publication "Compass"